News

News

Holy Stone Announces the Phase 1 Clinical Study Results for CA102N, A New Anti-Cancer Drug

08, Feb 2022
This Phase 1 study was designed as a multicenter, non randomized, open-label, multiple dose, and first in human study of CA102N monotherapy and CA102N combined with trifluridine/tipiracil (LONSURF) in subjects with advanced solid tumors. Three medical centers including MD Anderson, Banner MD Anderson and University Colorado in the US were joined the study. The study consisted of two parts: dose escalation part and dose expansion part, which were performed subsequently to investigate the safety and tolerability of CA102N, pharmacokinetics (PK) properties of CA102N, and preliminary efficacy of CA102N monotherapy and CA102N in combination with LONSURF in subjects.

A total of 37 subjects were enrolled in the study, including 25 in the dose escalation part and 12 in the dose expansion part. The study results showed that CA102N, dose at 0.72 mg/kg (Nimesulide equivalents) as monotherapy or in combination with LONSURF, was safe and well-tolerated in subjects with locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors and/or colorectal cancer. Regarding the PK properties of CA102N, no obvious drug accumulation was observed on Day 15 after the first infusion on Day1 of the 28-day treatment cycle, and the mean T1/2 was from 8 to 15 hours.

Meanwhile, the efficacy of CA102N monotherapy and CA102N in combination with LONSURF in subjects was also evaluated in this study. The preliminary efficacy results showed that CA102N in combination with LONSURF had a better disease control rate (DCR) compared to the CA102N monotherapy in the subject with locally advanced or metastatic solid tumors and/or colorectal cancer. In a retrospective study of LONSURF in patients with chemotherapy refractory metastatic colorectal cancer, the DCR was 24%. The DCR of the dose at 0.72 mg/kg of CA102N (Nimesulide equivalents) and LONSURF combination therapy in this study (dose expansion group) was 54.5%, which is obviously higher than that of LONSURF monotherapy.

CA102N is a hyaluronic acid conjugated drug developed with the company’s Hyaluronan Drug Delivery (HDD) platform. CA102N is a targeted anti-cancer drug for the treatment of colorectal cancer with multiple MOAs in inhibiting tumor growth, therefore, less resistance of CA102N comparing to traditional chemotherapy is expected. CA102N, either administered alone or as a combination therapy with a current drug, has the potential to become the first-line treatment of colorectal cancer.
 
Colorectal cancer is one of the most common types of cancer in the world. According to “Colorectal Cancer Drugs Global Market Report 2021: Covid 19 Impact And Recovery To 2030”, issued by The Business Research Company in June 2021 indicated that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the global market of (colorectal cancer CRC) treatments in 2020 and 2021 dropped to USD 6.23 billion and USD 6.09 billion, respectively. However, following the ease of the pandemic, the market is expected to grow gradually and reach USD 6.85 billion in 2025.

Based on the positive trial results reported in the CA102N phase 1 clinical study report, Holy Stone will submit a phase 2 clinical study to US FDA in 2022.
previous page

最新消息

最新消息

禾伸堂生技公佈抗癌新藥CA102N第Ⅰ期人體臨床試驗評估指標之結果

08, Feb 2022
本次臨床試驗以CA102N單一藥物及合併trifluridine/tipiracil (LONSURF)治療晚期實質固態腫瘤(Advanced Solid Tumors),採多中心、非隨機、開放式(open-label)、多劑量之方式,於美國MD Anderson, Banner MD Anderson, University Colorado三個醫學中心執行;該試驗依序進行藥物增量實驗(Dose escalation)及藥物劑量擴展實驗(Dose expansion),完成安全性(Safety)及耐受性(Tolerability)評估、藥物動力學(PK)之實驗數據收集,以及初步評估使用CA102N單一治療及合併LONSURF治療之效果。

本次臨床試驗共入組病患,總計37人;其中,藥物增量實驗為25人,藥物劑量擴展實驗為12人;於入組病患中,無論以CA102N 0.72 mg/kg單一藥物治療或合併LONSURF治療局部晚期或轉移性實體腫瘤或局部晚期或轉移性大腸直腸癌病患,具安全性及良好耐受性。且於治療週期中第一次注射後於第二次注射前(第15天)無發現明顯的藥物蓄積(Drug Accumulation),藥物平均半衰期(T1/2)為8-15小時。

同時,我們亦評估CA102N單一治療及合併LONSURF治療之效果,於局部晚期或轉移性實體腫瘤或局部晚期或轉移性大腸直腸癌受測病患中,CA102N合併LONSURF治療較CA102N單一藥物治療具較佳的疾病控制率(Disease control rate, DCR);依據回顧性研究(Retrospective study),LONSURF治療經化學療法後療效不佳之轉移性大腸直腸癌病患,其疾病控制率為24%;本次試驗中之藥物劑量擴展實驗結果顯示,以CA102N 0.72 mg/kg合併LONSURF治療,其疾病控制率為54.5%, CA102N合併LONSURF治療較LONSURF單一藥物治療具較佳的疾病控制率。

CA102N為本公司以「透明質酸藥物傳輸技術平台」(Hyaluronan Drug Delivery, HDD)中的透明質酸共軛鍵結技術(Hyaluronic Acid Conjugated Drugs, HACD),所開發的新一代標靶概念之抗癌藥物,用於治療大腸直腸癌,因標靶特性且具多路徑抑癌作用,相較傳統化療藥物較不易產生抗藥性,CA102N不論單獨用藥或是合併目前大腸直腸癌治療藥物,皆具未來大腸直腸癌前線治療藥物潛力。


大腸直腸癌為目前全球最多人罹患之癌症種類之一,根據The Business Research Company於2021年6月發佈的「2021年全球大腸直腸癌藥物巿場報告(Colorectal Cancer Drugs Global Market Report 2021: Covid 19 Impact And Recovery to 2030)」,全球大腸直腸癌(CRC)治療藥物巿場受到新冠肺炎的影響,由2020年62.3億美元的巿場規模下滑至2021年的60.9億美元,但隨著疫情的控制及趨緩,巿場規模將逐步增長,估計2025年可達68.5億美元的規模。

本公司將據以正向之CA102N第Ⅰ期人體臨床試驗報告,於2022年遞件US FDA申請第二期人體臨床實驗。
上一頁