News

News

Holy Stone Healthcare submitted an application to the US FDA for compassionate use of its new drug, CA102N, for the treatment of colorectal cancer, in phase I clinical trials.

24, Nov 2021

Holy Stone Healthcare’s new drug, CA102N, for the treatment of colorectal cancer is conducting phase I clinical trials in the US on patients with late-stage chemo-refractory mCRC. A patient’s condition is stabilizing after the treatment, and exceeding the original-planned 12 treatment cycles (336 days). With no worsening of their condition nor serious adverse effects, the patient intends to continue the treatment. However, with regards to the trial timeline for CA102N, as well as the fact that the clinical data collected is sufficient for primary analysis, the principal investigator, Dr. Dragovich, after discussing with CRO, has decided to end the phase I trial with the last patient completing their 15 treatment cycles. For ethical reasons, Holy Stone Healthcare submitted an application to the US FDA on Nov. 24, 2021, for compassionate use and expanded access for the patient, so they can continue receiving the treatment with the drugs from this clinical trial.

 

Holy Stone Healthcare is conducting its phase I clinical trials on dose escalation and dose expansion in 3 medical centers in the US: The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Banner MD Anderson Cancer Center, and University of Colorado Cancer Center. Besides safety and tolerability studies, PK analysis data is also collected during the trials. Currently, the trials for all participants are completed, as well as the data collection. The study report and analysis are expected to be released in January 2021.

 

CA102N is a hyaluronic acid conjugated drug developed with the company’s Hyaluronan Drug Delivery (HDD) platform. CA102N is a targeted anti-cancer drug with multiple MOAs in inhibiting tumor growth, thus making it less likely to build drug resistance, comparing to traditional chemotherapy. CA102N, either administered alone or as a combination therapy with a current drug, has the potential to become the first-line treatment of colorectal cancer.

 

Colorectal cancer is one of the most common types of cancer in the world. It has the third-highest Incidence rate, just after breast cancer and lung cancer. The mortality of colorectal cancer is the second-highest, just after lung cancer. According to “Colorectal Cancer Drugs Global Market Report 2021: Covid 19 Impact And Recovery To 2030”, issued by The Business Research Company in June 2021, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the global market of (colorectal cancer CRC) treatments in 2020 and 2021 dropped to USD 6.23 billion and USD 6.09 billion, respectfully. However, following the ease of the pandemic, the market is expected to grow gradually and reach USD 6.85 billion in 2025.

previous page

最新消息

最新消息

禾伸堂生技用於治療大腸直腸癌之新藥CA102N,針對執行第一期臨床試驗之受試者,遞件美國食品藥物管理局申請恩慈療法臨床試驗

24, Nov 2021

禾伸堂生技(4194.TW) 用於治療大腸直腸癌(Colorectal Cancer)之藥物CA102N,於美國執行用於chemo-refractory mCRC末期病患的Phase Ⅰ人體臨床試驗,因尚有受試者於接受治療後,其病情持續穩定且已接受超過原設定的12個治療週期(計336天),由於該患者之病情無惡化及無出現嚴重藥物不良反應,仍有意願持續接受此臨床實驗之治療;然考量CA102N下一階段臨床實驗之時程規劃,以及臨床數據已具統計分析之資料充份性,經與計劃主持人Dr. Dragovich及臨床試驗受託機構(CRO)討論後,決定以受試者完成15個治療週期作為完成第一期臨床試驗之終點;並基於人道倫理考量,為使該患者可持續接受本臨床試驗之藥物治療及擴大其治療週期,於110年11 月24日遞件美國食品藥物管理局(FDA)申請恩慈療法(Compassionate Use)之擴大取得(Expanded access)。

CA102N目前正於美國The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Banner MD Anderson Cancer Center, University of Colorado Cancer Center三個醫學中心執行Phase Ⅰ臨床試驗,分為「藥物增量實驗(Dose Escalation)」及「藥物劑量擴展實驗(Dose Expansion)」,除完成安全性(Safety)及耐受性(Tolerability)評估外,同時完成藥物動力學(PK)之實驗數據收集,日前已完成受測者試驗及試驗數據之收集,預計2022年1月將可完成該臨床試驗之報告及分析。

CA102N,為以本公司「透明質酸藥物傳輸技術平台」(Hyaluronan Drug Delivery, HDD)中的透明質酸共軛鍵結技術(Hyaluronic Acid Conjugated Drugs, HACD),所開發的透明質酸共軛鍵結藥物,因其標靶特性且具多路徑抑癌作用,相較傳統化療藥物較不易產生抗藥性,CA102N不論單獨用藥或是合併目前大腸直腸癌治療藥物,皆具未來大腸直腸癌前線治療藥物潛力。

大腸直腸癌為全球最多人罹患之癌症種類之一,其全球癌症發生率(Incidence)排名第三,僅次於婦女乳癌及肺癌,及全球癌症死亡率(Mortality)排名第二,僅次於肺癌;根據The Business Research Company於2021年6月發佈的「全球大腸直腸癌藥物巿場報告(Colorectal Cancer Drugs Global Market Report 2021: Covid 19 Impact And Recovery To 2030)」,全球大腸直腸癌(CRC)治療藥物巿場,2020年及2021年雖受到新冠肺炎的影響,下滑至62.3億美元及60.9億美元,但隨著疫情的控制及趨緩,巿場規模將逐步增長,估計2025年可達68.5億美元的規模。

上一頁