News

News

Holy Stone Healthcare’s new drug, ND108E, for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases, has been granted a Patent by the Taiwan Intellectual Property Office (TIPO)

23, Aug 2021

Holy Stone Healthcare has established the Hyaluronan Drug Delivery (HDD) platform and has developed several novel Hyaluronic Acid conjugated drugs (HACD) based on it, including ND108E. The Taiwan Intellectual Property Office (TIPO) has recently decided to grant a Patent to HACD-ND108E, which covers ND108E for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases.
 

ND108E is a drug developed by Holy Stone Healthcare for neuro-degenerative diseases. The multiple actions of ND108E include the reduction of amyloid β deposit, the aggregation of phosphor Tau protein, and the enhancement of the mitochondria activities to treat or delay the progression of Alzheimer’s disease. The in vivo animal studies have demonstrated that after ND108E treatment, the impaired animal memory and learning abilities can be restored, both plaque number and plasma level of amyloid β of diseased animals were decreased, and mitochondria functions were activated. Based on the above efficacy, ND108E was able to enhance the memory and recognition functions.
 

An estimated 6.2 million Americans aged 65 and older are living with Alzheimer’s dementia in 2021. By 2050, the number of people aged 65 and older with Alzheimer’s dementia is projected to reach 12.7 million. Alzheimer’s disease is the most common type of dementia, comprises up to 60% to 80% of the patients with dementia. This unknown central nerve degenerative disease is characterized by progressive impaired memory and cognition loss, accompanied by decreased daily life capability and behavioral change.

previous page

最新消息

最新消息

本公司用於治療神經退化性疾病(neurodegenerative diseases)之新藥ND108E,頃獲經濟部智慧財產局(TIPO)核發專利證書

23, Aug 2021

本公司於自行建立的HDD(Hyaluronan Drug Delivery)技術平台中,所開發出的透明質酸複合藥物(Hyaluronic acid conjugated drugs, HACD)-ND108E發明專利,頃獲經濟部智慧財產局(TIPO)核發專利證書,其保護範圍涵蓋本公司用於治療神經退化性疾病(neurodegenerative diseases)之新藥ND108E。

ND108E為本公司自主開發神經退化疾病藥物,ND108E作用機轉為多功能的作用,包括降低類澱粉蛋白的沉積,Tau蛋白的聚集,以及強化粒線體功能,來達到減緩或治療阿茲海默症的徵狀。ND108E的動物實驗結果證明,ND108E能有效恢復動物的記憶及學習能力,降低腦部斑塊數目及血中類澱粉蛋白片段Aβ含量,並增加粒線體功能,藉以提升記憶與認知功能。

依據美國阿茲海默症協會(The Alzheimer’s Association)的統計,於2021年估計有620萬名65歲以上的美國人受到阿茲海默症的失智病症所苦,估計到2050年時將成長至1,270萬名。阿茲海默症是最常見的失智症類型,占60%~80%,是一種原因未明的中樞神經系統退化性疾病,以漸進性記憶障礙及認知功能喪失,伴隨日常生活能力下降和行為改變為特徵,目前尚無有效的治療藥物,且伴隨年齡增加的龐大醫療照護成本,已為各國政府及各大藥廠傾力注入資源開發有效的治療藥物之一。

上一頁